The Cleveland Orchestra Concert

Session Date Start Time End Time Additional Cost
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 7:30 pm 9:00 pm $70 - $162

Opera: Strauss’s Daphne  

Wednesday, May 27, 2015
7:30 PM
Severance Hall

The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Regine Hangler (soprano) as Daphne
Andreas Schager (tenor) as Apollo
Norbert Ernst (tenor) as Leukippos
Ain Anger (bass) as Peneios
Nancy Maultsby (mezzo-soprano) as Gaea
Men of the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

At a Glance

Daphne (Opera in One Act)
music by Richard Strauss
libretto by Joseph Gregor

Franz Welser-Möst leads The Cleveland Orchestra in Richard Strauss’s captivating opera about Daphne, a young woman who must choose between the love of men and her love for nature.  Composed during the politically perilous period after the Nazis came to power and first performed in 1938, the opera had deep personal significance to the composer.  Strauss knew that the myth of Daphne was the subject of the very first opera ever composed — and his own version can be viewed as a guarded demand for creative freedom in the face of political and worldly hindrances.

Sung in German with projected English supertitles.    

These concerts are sponsored by Litigation Management, Inc.

Transportation will be provided from the Convention Center to Severance Hall, which is located in the heart of Cleveland’s University Circle District (5 miles east of downtown).

See registration form for more detailed pricing.