Sec. Duncan to Discuss Arts Education - (August 14, 2009)

Washington, D.C. - As states and local school districts define education priorities in this challenging economic climate, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan has issued a pdf statement emphasizing the importance of arts education for every child.

The letter can be a useful tool when communicating with local and state policy leaders regarding funding for arts education. The statement clearly emphasizes that, under federal law, the arts are a core academic subject of learning, and that states and localities can use federal funds to support arts education opportunities for all learners.

The NAMM Foundation and the SupportMusic Coalition, of which the League is a member, will host a live discussion with Secretary Duncan next Tuesday, moderated by Mary Luehrsen, Director of Public Affairs and Government Relations for NAMM. Your participation is needed to help demonstrate your concern and highlight the need for all children to have access to the arts as part of a complete and quality education.

Date: Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Time: 1 PM Eastern, 12 Noon Central, 11 AM Mountain, 10 AM Pacific

We encourage you to forward this invitation to your local school and community leaders and urge their participation in the call.

Registration for the conference call stream is available online now and up to 15 minutes prior to the event. Secretary Duncan will join the call promptly at 1 p.m. ET on August 18th. 

Register for the Call Today!

 

Please direct any related questions to Heather Noonan, Vice President for Advocacy, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Najean Lee, Government Affairs & Education Advocacy Manager, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

The League is a member of the Performing Arts Alliance, a coalition of national performing arts service organizations dedicated to advocating for national policies that recognize, enhance, and foster the contributions the performing arts make to America.